About Us

OverviewOur HistoryOur PhilosophyOur Faculty

Program Administration


The University of Kansas School of Medicine-Wichita is responsible for program administration. Salina Health Education Foundation (SHEF), the official advisory body for all matters pertaining to medical education at Smoky Hill, serves as a liaison between the University of Kansas School of Medicine and the Saline County Medical Society regarding resident medical education. Four University faculty members (Rob Freelove, MD, Charles Allred, MD, Robert Kraft, MD and Scott Owings, MD) serve as the full time medical school staff in Salina.


Smoky Hill Family Medicine faculty members dedicate their professional lives to family medicine and rural health care education. They have all trained to be excellent family physicians and continually strive to stay current in the ever-changing world of medicine. We recognize that being an excellent teacher of family medicine starts with being an excellent family physician, but it goes much, much farther.


All faculty at Smoky Hill develop their skills as expert teachers through conferences, seminars and/or fellowships in resident education. They are also on the frontlines of learning how to best teach family medicine through ongoing curriculum development and research projects. Teaching family medicine is an exciting and dynamic field, and we embrace the challenges it holds.




These initiatives include the Kansas Locum Tenens Program, the Bridging Plan for residents, the Kansas Medical Student Loan Program, the Kansas Academy of Family Physicians (KAFP) Rural Summer Research Program and the KAFP White Paper on rural healthcare, "Where Have All The Doctors Gone?". Rural family medicine is our passion. We strive to make it fulfilling for our residents and alumni and of benefit to the people of Kansas.


The faculty showcase their expertise as they frequently guest lecture for civic and health care groups, state conferences and legislative groups on a wide range of family medicine and rural health care topics. Faculty have held leadership roles in the Kansas Academy of Family Physicians and the Primary Care Physician Education Initiative of the University of Kansas Medical School. They have also published in state and national medical journals, including the American Family Physician.


The faculty of Smoky Hill originated or contributed to the development of many rural health initiatives vital to the people of Kansas and to prospective family medicine residents.

Our Faculty


Click on the photo of our faculty members below to learn more about them.

Rob Freelove, MD
Robert Kraft, MD
Kimberly Williams, MD
Chantel Long, MD
Abbey Rupe, MD
Leah Peterson, MD
Danielle Blea
Dallas Walz, MD